Epiphanien-Effekt im Tempel von Yazılıkaya bei der Sommersonnenwende um 1250 v. Chr. (© Oliver Bruderer/Luwian Studies)
LETZTE NEWS
Aktuelle Medienberichte
Die wissenschaftliche Fachveröffentlichung der neuen Interpretation des Felsheiligtums Yazılıkaya hat ein internationales Medienecho gefunden. New Scientist online liefert einen umfassenden Bericht, in dem auch andere…
Yazılıkaya als lunisolarer Kalender
Das einzigartige Felsheiligtum Yazılıkaya, das zur hethitischen Hauptstadt Hattusa gehörte, enthält alle Elemente eines Sonne-Mond-Kalenders. Die Relieffiguren in Kammer A stehen demnach für 12 Mondmonate,…
Megan Fox schwärmt von den Luwiern
Der US-amerikanischen Schauspielerin Megan Fox ist es ein Anliegen, auch junge Leute für die offenen Fragestellungen der Archäologie zu begeistern. Sie hat daher eine Fernsehserie…
LETZTE TWEETS

A misrepresentation of our Haak, Lazaridis et al. (2015) study @SmithsonianMag

"They particularly latched onto two studies from 2015 which claimed to show ... that predatory bands of young men from the Yamnaya culture of the Eurasian steppe swept..."

https://t.co/rsCCN08gPS

Congrats with the new book with a fascinating new hypothesis on the origin of the #Hittite language, and early Hittite history, @AlwinKloekhorst ! 🆕➡️ https://t.co/SRHTTqhXiD

Das Felsheiligtum Yazılıkaya funktioniert als Lunisolarkalender – auch heute noch!

Die Astronomin und Archäologin Rita Gautschy von der Universität Basel und Eberhard Zangger, Präsident von Luwian Studies, stellen eine komplett neue Interpretation des hethitischen Felsheiligtums Yazılıkaya vor. Demnach scheint es sich um eine Anlage zum Betrieb eines Kalenders zu handeln. Die Ergebnisse der fünf Jahre währenden Untersuchung sind – zur Sommersonnenwende 2019 – im Journal of Skyscape Archaeology erschienen.

Die Veröffentlichung „Celestial Aspects of Hittite Religion: An Investigation of the Rock Sanctuary Yazılıkaya“ steht sowohl auf Englisch wie auch auf Türkisch gratis als PDF zur Verfügung.

Zusätzlich ist ein populärwissenschaftlicher Hintergrundbericht zur Vorgehensweise bei diesem Projekt auf Nachrichtenportalen für Archäologie-Interessierte in Deutschland, den USA und in der Türkei erschienen

Yazılıkaya war offenbar der Ort, an dem die hethitischen Priester den Kalender führten. Anscheinend markierten sie den Tag, den Monat und das Jahr mit beweglichen Zeigern in Form von Säulen aus Stein oder Holz. So ließen sich die wichtigsten Zeitpunkte des Jahres bestimmen: die Sonnenwenden, die Tagundnachtgleichen, der Jahresanfang und die Monatsfeste.

Ein funktionierender Kalender war für die Hethiter unverzichtbar. Sie regelten damit die Zeitpunkte für Aussaat und Ernte, vor allem aber auch die Termine für ihre bis zu 165 religiösen Feste des Jahres.
Eine neue Perspektive bei der Untersuchung der hethitischen und luwischen Religion

Yazilikaya Sunset

„Die Interpretation von Yazılıkaya setzt keineswegs einen Schlusspunkt unter die Suche nach einer Erklärung für die Anlage“, schreibt Eberhard Zangger. „Vielmehr ist sie nur ein erster Schritt in eine neue Richtung. Nach über hundert Jahren systematischer Erforschung der hethitischen Kultur scheinen wir in mancherlei Hinsicht wieder ganz am Anfang zu stehen.“

Ein einstündiger Vortrag (auf Englisch) zu den neuesten Untersuchungen in Yazılıkaya steht auf YouTube zur Verfügung. Dort gibt es auch ein vom Astrofotografen Bernd Pröschold erstelltes Video mit Zeitrafferaufnahmen der Licht- und Schatteneffekte.

Der Archäoastronom Clive Ruggles (2015) führt drei Eigenschaften auf, die für die Beurteilung der astronomischen Bedeutung archäologischer Stätten relevant sind: Ausrichtung von Bauwerken, Licht- und Schatteneffekte und symbolische Zahlen (Handbook of Archaeoastronomy and Ethnoastronomy, vol. 1, 376-382). Alle drei Faktoren sind in Yazılıkaya ungewöhnlich gut überliefert.

Schon vor einigen Jahren haben die Astrophysiker Juan Antonio Belmonte und A. César González-García die astralen Aspekte in der hethitischen Religion mit naturwissenschaftlichen Methoden ermittelt. Sie maßen die Ausrichtung der Tempel und Tore in Hattusa und stellten fest, dass diese mit hoher statistischer Wahrscheinlichkeit astronomisch orientiert sind. Im Felsheiligtum Yazılıkaya erkannten die Astrophysiker, dass die nördliche Außenmauer des Torhauses auf den Sonnenuntergang zur Sommersonnenwende ausgerichtet ist. Im Rahmen der jüngsten Untersuchungen sind noch eine Anzahl weiterer Hinweise für Himmelsbezüge ermittelt worden. Dadurch können nun alle 66 Figuren in Kammer A des Felsheiligtums erklärt werden.

Welche Hinweise auf eine astronomisch-astrologische Nutzung gibt es in Yazılıkaya und Hattusa?
  • Das gesamte Heiligtum war durch Mauern nach außen verschlossen, aber nicht überdacht, obwohl dies leicht zu bewerkstelligen gewesen wäre. Die Reliefs waren damit Sonne, Regen und Witterungseinflüssen ausgesetzt. Licht- und Schatteneffekte oder die Bewegungen des Mondes beziehungsweise die scheinbaren Bewegungen der Sonne und Sterne sind in die Funktion des Heiligtums eingeflossen.
  • Die Nordwand des Torhauses, des ersten Bauwerks, das im Heiligtum errichtet wurde, ist auf den Sonnenuntergang zur Sommersonnenwende ausgerichtet.
  • Das Heiligtum wurde komplett in einer Bauphase errichtet, was auf eine technische Verwendung hinweist, und später in zwei Phasen ausgebaut und erneuert.
  • Die markante Westwand in Kammer B verläuft fast genau von Nord nach Süd. Diese glatte Felswand wurde sogar künstlich mit gesägten Natursteinen verlängert, was darauf hindeutet, dass die Wand eine Funktion hatte, die eine große Oberfläche erforderte.
  • Das Relief (64) von Großkönig Tudhaliya IV. wird nur zur Zeit der Sommersonnenwende von Sonnenstrahlen beschienen.
  • Die Kammern A und B enthalten je eine Gruppe mit 12 einheitlichen männlichen Gottheiten, die offenbar auf die 12 Monate des Jahres hinweisen.
  • Die Tempel des Heiligtums wurden anscheinend für jährlich wiederkehrende religiöse Feste genutzt, allen voran das Neujahrsfest.
  • Eine Verbindung zu Gestirnen zeigt sich durch die Präsenz des Sonnengottes des Himmels, des Mondgottes und der Göttin Sauska (Istar/Venus), die sowohl in der männlichen Götterreihe (als Morgenstern und Kriegsgott) als auch in der weiblichen Reihe (als Abendstern und Göttin der Fruchtbarkeit) präsent ist.
  • Die Steinmetze ließen eine Säule aus sorgfältig gemeißeltem Naturstein zwischen den Reliefs 54 und 55 aus der Mauer ragen. Diese Säule weist auf eine technische Funktion hin.
  • In Hattusa ist eine statistisch signifikante Zahl der Gebäudefundamente, Kammern und Tore nach astronomischen Parametern ausgerichtet.
  • Der Yerkapı-Komplex im höchsten Teil der Oberstadt von Hattusa ist exakt nach Norden ausgerichtet. Die Südwestecke seiner pyramidalen Basis weist zusätzlich auf den Sonnenuntergang zur Wintersonnenwende.

Fast alle diese Eigenschaften sind seit vielen Jahren bekannt. Im Rahmen der neuen Untersuchung erkannten Zangger und Gautschy, dass die Relieffiguren in Kammer A Gruppen mit 12, 30, 8 und 19 Elementen bilden. Mit diesen Zahlen lässt sich ein immerwährender Sonne-Mond-Kalender betreiben. Das heißt, Yazılıkaya könnte auch heute noch als Kalender benutzt werden.

Epiphany effect in the temple of Yazılıkaya during the summer solstice 1250 BC. (© Oliver Bruderer/Luwian Studies)
Latest News
Current media reports
The scientific publication of the new interpretation of the rock sanctuary Yazılıkaya has triggered a number of reports in international media. New Scientist online produced…
Yazılıkaya as a lunisolar calendar
The exceptional rock sanctuary Yazılıkaya, part of the Hittite capital Hattusa, contains all the elements required to operate a lunisolar calendar. The reliefs in its…
Megan Fox shares her enthusiasm of the Luwians
The US-American actress Megan Fox is keen to get young people interested in the open questions of archaeology. She has therefore designed a television series…
Latest Tweets

Countdown to the @eaa2019 and our session👇on #BronzeAge #WesternAnatolia with lectures by @ivohajnal @AlwinKloekhorst and many others! We are looking forward to stimulating papers, and to catching up with colleagues!

Great new research on the origins of the #Hittites. Congrats with your magnificent new book @AlwinKloekhorst !

The rock sanctuary Yazılıkaya could work as lunisolar calender – even today!

The astronomer and archaeologist Rita Gautschy from the University of Basel and Eberhard Zangger, president of Luwian Studies, have presented a completely novel interpretation of the Hittite rock sanctuary Yazılıkaya. Accordingly, it seems to have been a facility to keep the calendar. The results of their five-year investigation have just been published in the Journal of Skyscape Archeology – in time for the summer solstice 2019.

The paper entitled “Celestial Aspects of Hittite Religion: An Investigation of the Rock Sanctuary Yazılıkaya” is available for free download as a PDF in both English and Turkish.

In addition, a popular science background report about how this project was approached has been published on news portals in Germany, the US, and Turkey for people who have an interest in archaeology.

Accordingly, Yazılıkaya was the place where the Hittite priests maintained the calendar. They may have indicated the day, the lunar month and the year with portable markers in the form of stone or wood columns beneath the reliefs. Thus, the most important times of the year could be determined: the solstices, the equinoxes, New Year and the Festival of the Month.

A functioning calendar was indispensable to the Hittites. It determined the timing of sowing and harvesting, but above all the dates of up to 165 annual religious festivals.
A new perspective in the study of Hittite and Luwian religion

Yazilikaya Sunset

“This new interpretation will by no means put an end to the search for an explanation of Yazılıkaya”, writes Eberhard Zangger. “It is more likely to turn out to be a first step in a new direction. After more than a hundred years of systematic exploration of Hittite culture, in many ways we still seem to be at the very beginning.”

A one-hour talk on the latest research in Yazılıkaya is available on YouTube. There is also a video created by the astrophotographer Bernd Pröschold showing time-lapse photographs of the starry sky and the light and shadow effects in the sancuaty.

The archeo-astronomer Clive Ruggles (2015) lists three characteristics that are relevant for assessing the astronomical significance of archaeological sites: alignment of structures, light and shadow effects, and symbolic numbers (Handbook of Archaeoastronomy and Ethnoastronomy, vol. 1, 376-382). All three factors are exceedingly well preserved in Yazılıkaya.

A few years ago, the astrophysicists Juan Antonio Belmonte and A. César González-García employed scientific methods to determine astral aspects in the Hittite religion. They measured the alignments of temples, gates and chambers in Hattuša and found that they are astronomically oriented with high statistical probability. At Yazılıkaya, they saw that the northern wall of the gatehouse faces the sunset at summer solstice. The most recent study by Zangger and Gautschy finds even more references to celestial concerns. As a result, all 66 figures in the rock sanctuary’s Chamber A can now be explained.

What are the indications for astronomical/astrological concerns in Yazılıkaya and Hattusa?
  • The entire sanctuary was walled off from the outside, but not roofed over, even though this would have been easy to achieve. This means the reliefs were exposed to sunlight, rain, and weathering. This may imply that the movements of the Sun, shadows, and/or the Moon and stars were a component of the sanctuary’s function.
  • The northern wall of the gatehouse, the first structure erected at the sanctuary, is aligned with the sunset at the summer solstice.
  • The sanctuary was built in a single phase of construction, suggesting a technical purpose. Later it was renovated and renewed in two distinct phases.
  • The prominent western wall in Chamber B runs almost exactly north-south. Its flat bedrock face was even extended using ashlar building stones, indicating that the wall itself may have had a function that required a large surface.
  • Sunlight falls on the relief (64) of Great King Tudḫaliya IV in Chamber A in the afternoon for a few days around the summer solstice in mid-June, which may imply that the most distinctive spot was reserved for the storm god’s highest mortal representative.
  • Chambers A and B exhibit reliefs with 12 uniform male gods, possibly indicating the 12 gods of the lunar year – and thus the months.
  • The temples in front of the sanctuary may have been used for seasonal celebrations, including the New Year’s festival.
  • A connection to celestial bodies is indicated by the presence of the Sun God, the Moon God and the goddess Sauska (Istar/Venus) who is represented and named both in the male row of gods (as morning star and god of war) and in the female row (as evening star and goddess of fertility).
  • For reasons that have so far remained unexplained, the Bronze Age stonemasons left a column of carefully shaped natural rock protruding from the wall between Reliefs 54 and 55; this column may imply a technical function.
  • A statistically significant number of building foundations, chambers and gates in Hattusa are astronomically aligned.
  • Yerkapı in the highest part of Hattusa’s Upper City is exactly facing north. The southwest corner of its pyramidal base points at the sunset during the winter solstice.

Almost all these characteristics were known for some time. The new study by Zangger and Gautschy adds to this – among other things – the idea that the reliefs in Chamber A are arranged in groups of 12, 30, 8, and 19 figures. These are exactly the numbers required to operate a perpetual lunisolar calendar. In fact, Yazılıkaya could still be used as such today.